We all need a break from social media from time to time. If you need more space from Facebook than simply logging out, but don?t want to permanently delete your account, you have the option to deactivate your account. This will keep all your information safely saved while you take a break, but nobody else on Facebook will be able to view it during this time.
To deactivate your Facebook account, simply follow the steps below:
? When logged in to Facebook, you?ll see a drop-down arrow labelled ?Account? at the top right hand side of the page, to the right of where your notifications appear
? Select the ?Settings and privacy? option under this list
? Then select ?Settings?
? This will take you to your general account settings. From here, select ?Your Facebook Information? from the list on the left-hand side
? You?ll be presented with a list of options. At the bottom, you?ll find the option labelled ?Deactivation and Deletion?
? On selecting ?view?, you?ll have the option to deactivate or delete your account. Deletion is permanent, and you won’t be able to retrieve any information you have preciously posted, including messages. Deactivation on the other hand simply means that your profile is disabled, so you can no longer be found, and your name will be removed on anything you?ve shared
? Select ?Continue to account deactivation? and follow the instructions to confirm
When you?re ready to join the online world of Facebook again, you can simply reactivate your account by logging in (you?ll need your email or phone number linked to your account) and you?re good to go!